Update
27 Sep 2014

Fritz

FR

Montebello

In 1879, Fritz von Dardel (1817-1901) decided to acquire[1] the small property of Montebello near Stockholm. The land was owned by Nils von Höpken, trustee in Bogesund. Montebello was located North of Stockholm and could be reached easily from the capital by steamer.

Montebello
There were several houses surrounded by a large park and lawns. The architecture belonged to the "Swiss style" that was in fashion at the time. This style was characterised by the use of wood as a construction material and by verandas, columns, trumeaus, balconies, with details in fretted wood. The house was painted in yellow woth red panels. On the ground floor you found the eating room, the sitting room and several bedrooms, one of which was Fritz von Dardel's. He could go directly to Augusta's bedroom (his wife, born Silfversköld) using a circular staircase leading to the first floor. Of the two verandas, one was Augusta's domain and that of the other women of the family, the other was Fritz's, two separated worlds according to the customs of that time. Several bedrooms were located on the first floor.

The large family, including all grandchildren, spent happy summers there during three decades. After the death of Fritz in 1901, the family continued to live in Montebello until 1907. There were numerous visitors, all belonging to the aristocratic and bourgeois circles in which the Dardel family was at home in Stockholm. The dearest visitors were always Alexandre de Dardel, Fritz's brother, his wife Cécile, who came from Neuchâtel, and Fritz's sister Augusta Ramel (née de Dardel). The two brothers and their sister were pleased to remember their childhood in Switzerland[2]. The grandchildren were a great joy for Fritz, even more when his eyesight began to decline, which is a tragic event for a painter.

Life in Montebello was no different from the city life, which means it was comfortable according to the ideas and measurements of the Swedish "haute bourgeoisie" of the late 19th Century. Several servants saved the ladies from domestic chores. Augusta von Dardel even had her own house maid.

Noces d'or
Parties were celebrated in Montebello. The biggest one was Fritz and Augusta's golden wedding anniversary in the summer of 1896. The entire family attended the celebration, with the exception of Carl and Ebba von Dardel and their son Carlo. The happy and worriless life in Montebello is documented by photographs taken by Fritz. There are also in the family many of his watercolours and drawings immortalising the summers of the late century in Montebello.
[1] It was a 30 year lease.
[2] All three were born in Neuchâtel. In 1835, Fritz and Augusta went to Sweden, the homeland of their mother, while Louis-Alexandre settled in Saint-Blaise. See genealogy.
Text written in French by Angela Rundquist in 1975
translated, annotated and illustrated by François de Dardel in 2014

See the page on Fritz von Dardel and his works.

Family Dardel

Site map

Mise à jour
27 Sep 2014

Fritz

EN

Montebello

En 1879, Fritz von Dardel (1817-1901) se décida à acquérir[1] la petite propriété de Montebello près de Stockholm. La terre appartenait à à Nils von Höpken, fidéicommissaire de Bogesund. Montebello était situé au nord de Stockholm et l'on s'y rendait facilement de la capitale en bateau à vapeur.

Montebello
Il y avait plusieurs maisons entourées d'un grand parc et de pelouses. Le corps de logis était un grand bâtiment à un étage. L'architecture appartenait au style "suisse" en vogue à cette époque. Ce style était caractérisé par l'emploi de bois comme matériau de construction et par des vérandas, colonnes, trumeaux, balustrades comportant des détails en bois chantourné. La maison était peinte en jaune avec des panneaux rouges. Au rez-de-chaussée se trouvaient la salle à manger, le salon et plusieurs chambres à coucher dont l'une était celle de Fritz von Dardel. Il pouvait aller directement à la chambre d'Augusta, sa femme (née Silfversköld), par un escalier tournant menant à l'étage. Les deux vérandas de la façade étaient l'une le domaine d'Augusta et des autres femmes de la famille, et l'autre le domaine de Fritz, deux mondes séparés selon l'usage de l'époque. À l'étage il y avait plusieurs chambres à coucher.

La grande famille, y compris tous les petits-enfants, y passa de très heureux étés pendant quelques dizaines d'années. Après la mort de Fritz von Dardel en 1901, la famille continua à habiter Montebello jusqu'en 1907. Les visiteurs étaient nombreux, tous appartenant au milieu aristocratique et de la haute bourgeoisie dans lequel évoluait la famille von Dardel à Stockholm. Les visiteurs les plus chers étaient toujours Alexandre de Dardel, le frère de Fritz, et sa femme Cécile, qui venaient de Neuchâtel, ainsi que la sœur de Fritz, Augusta Ramel (née de Dardel). Les deux frères et la sœur se plaisaient à se souvenir de leur enfance en Suisse[2]. Les petits-enfants étaient la grande joie de Fritz, et ceci plus encore quand sa vue se mit à faiblir, évènement tragique pour un artiste-peintre.

La vie à Montebello n'était pas différente de celle que la famille menait en ville, c'est à dire une vie confortable selon les idées et mesures de la haute bourgeoisie suédoise de la fin du XIXe siècle. Plusieurs domestiques permettaient aux femmes von Dardel de s'éviter les soucis du ménage. Augusta von Dardel avait même sa femme de chambre personnelle.

Noces d'or
On donnait des fêtes à Montebello. La plus grande fut celle en l'honneur des noces d'or de Fritz et Augusta — en 1896 — à laquelle assista toute la famille sauf Carl et Ebba von Dardel et leur fils Carlo. La vie heureuse et sans soucis des étés à Montebello est documentée par des photographies prises par Fritz. On trouve aussi dans la famille un grand nombre de ses dessins et aquarelles immortalisant les étés de la fin du siècle à Montebello.
[1] par un bail de 30 ans.
[2] Tous les trois étaient nés à Neuchâtel. En 1835, Fritz et Augusta partirent pour la Suède, patrie de leur mère, tandis que Louis-Alexandre s'établit définitivement à Saint-Blaise. Voir généalogie.
Texte rédigé en français par Angela Rundquist en 1975
revu, annoté et illustré par François de Dardel en 2014

Voir la page sur Fritz von Dardel et ses œuvres.

Famille Dardel

Site map